Springtime Walk in Texas

I’m in the Hill Country for a week. I walked up the road this morning and enjoyed seeing all the different wildflowers. I used my daughter’s wildflower books but still couldn’t identify them all. I think the ones included here are correct.

Antelope-Horns, Asclepias asperula

This one is fascinating. In the next photo it is in full bloom.

Antelope-Horns, Asclepias asperula
Gaillardia suavis

This one is called pincushion daisy. The photo in the book shows it with the ray flowers but it often has just the disk flowers as it does here.

Mimosa borealis

Pink mimosa. Do you know what you see when you search for pink mimosa on line? It mostly drinks, not flowers.

Cooperia pedunculata

Rain-lily.

Castilleja indivisa

Texas Paintbrush.

Winecup.

Bluebonnets. At home I’d call this flower a lupine, but there are many different species and the one is Lupinus texensis.

Maybe I’ll be able to identify more tomorrow.

Leave a comment